top of page

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me two orange date cookies

Updated: Jan 16, 2021

And freshly baked ginger snaps


This was my first original cookie recipe, all my own rather than just tweaking of an original. It feels a bit like cheating to include it as I posted it so recently, but as we are including it in our Christmas cookies, I am including it here.


Ingredients:

1 c butter, softened

1/2 c white sugar

1/2 c dark brown sugar

1/2 c ground almonds

1/3 c pomegranate molasses

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cloves

2 c flour

1/4 c dried orange peel

3/4 c dates, chopped


1) Cream butter and sugar in a bowl. add almonds and pomegranate molasses and mix well. Soak orange peel in a cup of hot water.

2) Stir in wet ingredients, then gradually add dry ingredients.

3) Drain orange peel. Add date and orange peel. Drop onto greased cookie sheet by teaspoonfuls.

4) Bake at 180°C for 8-10 minutes until golden on top. Cool for a few minutes then enjoy warm!


I know I had these recently, but it was so nice to have them again. They were such a tasty discovery! Happy Advent!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page